Comment: Calabrian Christmas in the States   Leave a comment

The following is the beginning of a fascinating article by Maria Desiderata Montana that can be found here.  Maria has her own website on the San Diego food scene that is well worth a look. SY

Growing up in a large Italian family, I learned how to respect tradition and embrace family ties through cooking. I think my passion for cooking started when I was 7 years old, waking up early Christmas Eve morning to make homemade ravioli for our big Christmas dinner. When I say early, I mean the crack of dawn. You see, my mother couldn’t rest until the ravioli was finished. It was as if she, a perfectionist by nature, just couldn’t wait to see how beautiful they would turn out. While the rest of the house was quiet, my mom would play soft Italian music really low and share her childhood stories, as my sister and I helped roll out the pasta dough. Forget about the men in my family ever helping in the kitchen. Our Italian tradition was that the cooking was for the women only [continues]

Leave a Reply

